Friday, November 13, 2009

Case of Love by Wendy Stone



Title: Case of Love

Author: Wendy Stone

Publisher: Eternal Press

Published date: November 2009

ISBN: eBook 978-1-926704-81-4 / Print 978-1-926704-89-0

Genre/Theme: Contemporary

Length: Novel

Buy Link

Author’s Website


When reporter Mackenzie Hunter goes looking for a story and stumbles into a drug sting, she expects the worst but finds the best. Undercover detective Gideon Hawkins finds himself inexplicably drawn to the dark-haired beauty who goes looking for trouble without reason. If she waits a minute, it seeks her out all on its own. Trouble follows them both actually. As a cop and a hard hitting reporter the two of them are bound to stir things up. Drug dealers, angry psychos, fire, and overly protective family members prevent the two of them from ever being board as they struggle to overcome danger while discovering one another.

I loved both of these characters. Mackenzie is sweet and determined without being weak or overly pushy; Hawk is rough around the edges but incredibly loving; and the supporting characters, especially the Hunter family, add the perfect sense of reality to the mix. Ms. Stone’s tale of romance amid danger and mayhem with just a little humor to balance things out provided a delightful read.

Despite a few redundancies and inconsistencies in dialogue and behavior, Case of Love is well written and a fun read overall. I would recommend it as an exciting escape.

Rating: 3.5 whips

Heat Level: Erotic


Saturday, October 17, 2009

Child of My Heart by Merry Stahel



Title: Child of My Heart
Author: Merry Stahel
Publisher:White Rose Publishing
Published date: 2009
Genre/Theme: Contemporary romance
Length: 63 pages
Hannah didn’t expect to be raising her mother’s surrogate child. But Baby Seth’s parents also died, and he has no one else...Until Uncle Aaron shows up, demanding that Hannah give up her half-brother to his family, since genetically, Seth is their son.
Can the love of one tiny baby unite two families?


Review: Child of My Heart is a warm and enchanting story of a situation of unusual circumstances that leads to romance and a happy ending. The author brought in the emotions of the characters that struck me with reality.

rating: 4 flames
heat level: sweet
Reviewer: Jennifer R.

Friday, October 16, 2009

The Stranger Behind the Kiss by Tess Thieler


Title: The Stranger Behind the Kiss
Author: Tess Thieler
Publisher: Wild Rose Press
Published date: 2009
Genre/Theme: Crimson Rose Contemporary
Length: 17 pages

Alone and having just moved to a new small town, Arden Majors treats herself to a wonderfully romantic movie that leaves her primed to be kissed. Little did she know that the ruggedly handsome man racing down the dimly lit alley towards her would fulfill that need. By allowing this stranger to impulsively kiss her, Arden inadvertently rescues him from a dangerous position. The tables suddenly turned on Detective Jake Summers' surveillance job and now two drug dealers want him and the video that would put them behind bars. With fate forcing them to work together, can these two passionate strangers stay focused on the situation, and not on each other, long enough to ensure their safety…and their future?

I think it's every woman's fantasy to have a total stranger kiss the daylights out of her. Jake Summers does just that and knocks both he and Arden's socks off in the process. Instant desire flares between them. Throw in a few drug dealers,an explosion and an abduction, and they've bonded big-time. This was a fun read that packed a lot of story into a small space. I look forward to reading more from Tess Thieler!

Rating: 4 flames
Heat Level: sensual
Reviewer: Jillian

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Wolfe, She Cried by Bliss Addison


Title: Wolfe, She Cried
Author: Bliss Addison
Publisher: Write Words, Inc.
Published Date: April 2007
ISBN: 9781594315213
Genre/Theme: Mystery/Crime/Susp/Thriller
Length: Novel

Blurb: The day Chief of Police Simon Wolfe anxiously awaited arrives---the only woman he has ever loved and fellow police officer, Evie Madison, returns home. When an island resident is heinously murdered Simon enlists Evie's help with the investigation.
What trace evidence is left behind is virtually useless, at least until they have a suspect. Soon after, two men are identically murdered on the mainland. As Simon and Evie become closer and the investigation progresses, he uncovers evidence that leads him to believe Evie is the killer. Will Simon have the courage to arrest her?
When first starting this book, it will blow you away. Once you get into the book, there are a few places where the plot slows down. Please keep with it. The way the plot gets twisted around will have you turning the pages as fast as you can. You will also be pondering exactly where the author is leading you. I was completely surprised by the ending in a good way.
The two main characters, Simon and Evie, will have you rooting for their relationship from the beginning. There happens to be quite a bit of dialogue throughout the book. Some of the banter between the characters will have you laughing in places. Each character have demons from their past they have to deal with. Evie has more than anyone should have to deal with.
This is definitely a book for a suspense junkie to read. Please pick this up, you will not be disappointed in the least.

Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Sensual
Reviewer: Roberta

Her Maine Man by Sylvie Kaye

Title: Her Maine Man
Author: Sylvie Kaye
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press – Champagne Rose
Pub Date: 2008
ISBN: 1-60154-460-X
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 331 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website

Review: Maddie wants a one-weekend affair with Jon, a sexy stranger visiting Maine. Jon couldn’t believe the deal when it was offered to him, but why pass it up? Maybe because Maddie’s family is full of scandal and everyone has their eyes on the lookout for a scandal. Things go great between the two until lies and deception play into the plan and once a year isn’t nearly enough.

Ms. Kaye creates a world I want to escape to. Her Maine Man was a book full heart felt romance, sensual kisses, lies and deception. Just these four points will capture your attention from the beginning and keep your interest until the last word and still leave you yearning for more. In my reading experience, authors either describe their characters until we are tired of them or leave us hanging for details. Maddie and Jon are implanted in my mind. I know every feature, every movement, and every detail. I know just enough about both characters to keep up with the story without wondering more about them.

There are several twits and turns in this novel that will have the reader’s mind reeling with information and clueless to what’s going to happen. You can guess, you may even think you know, but Ms. Kaye will send a delightful surprise your way.

I honestly believe Sylvie Kaye has taken a simple story plot and made it into a masterpiece. I will be on the lookout for more books by her!

Rating: 5 Flames
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Tonya Callihan

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

When the Bough Breaks by Miss Mae


Title: When the Bough Breaks
Author: Miss Mae
Published date: October 12, 2009
ISBN: 978-1-936167-01-2
Genre/Theme: Young Adult
Length: 194 pages
Darlene Moore's reason for shunning Parker Shane has nothing to do with his reputation of being a playboy. She even dates him before the death of her mother forces her to move away. After a two-year absence from Dalesville, she returns home to find Parker exchanging wedding vows with her sister. Two months later, her sister dies.

Danger and questions a plenty barrage Darlene with the deadly speed of a six-shooter. Who called down a representative from a Washington agency? Who later assaulted him? Who attacked Darlene at her friend's apartment? And will Parker's scandalous brand of playboy be changed to one of murderous culprit? Or, in the moment of Darlene's greatest need, might he become her rescuing knight?

This was such a sweet and charming read. I really enjoyed the story. The characters were strong and encouraging. The characters clicked from the moment they met. The author, Miss Mae has a unique style, one I haven’t seen in a while. I have a feeling readers are going to grab her books up as if they were going out of style. The mystery with the plot is unlike any other. You think you know what is going to happen next, but you will be surprised to see where the plot of this story takes you next. I got so lost within the pages of this novel. I started it and I couldn’t wait to finish it. The drama is intense, but not overwhelming. It’s a great story and would I would definitely recommend to my family and friends, especially my teenage nieces. You should read this story, don’t be fooled by it being in the young adult genre. It is a book even the most mature of us can relate to and love.

Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Sweet
Reviewer: Holli Winters

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Hunter's Moon by J.O. Parks

Picture Coming Soon!


Title: Hunter’s Moon

Author: J. O. Parks

Publisher: Hearts on Fire Books

Published date:

ISBN: Not Available

Genre/Theme: Paranormal

Length: novel

Buy Here!

Synopsis- Laura Wyatt is a good cop. People trust her and she trusts herself until the night a wolflike creature kills an informant right before her eyes and a black wolf with tender human hands rescues her from certain death. Nothing seems real once the nightmares that haunt her come to life. Drug dealers, serial killers, corrupt politicians, an ex-husband, mythical creatures, and even Satan’s daughter are out to get her but Laura doesn’t understand why. With the aid of a werehuman named Malachi, she must find out the truth about her past before she ends up dead.

Review- Were I to rate this novel on story alone, I would give it a much higher rating. J.O. Parks creates an inventive tale filled with intrigue. The two main characters are likable and complex. Unfortunately, the technical problems overshadow the interesting moments. Hunter’s Moon reads like a first draft. Readers’ heads will spin as they leap from one point of view to the next. Lack of punctuation and incorrect word choices often left me confused and forced to look back at the previous paragraph in an effort to understand who was speaking and what he or she actually meant to say. If you really love shape shifter stories with a bit of mystery, you might want to give Hunter’s Moon a try, but honestly, I’d pass.

Rating: Two flames

Heat Level: Spicy


Friday, September 25, 2009

Desire to Die For by Jessica Lee

Title: Desire to Die For
Author: Jessica Lee
Publisher: Loose ID
Published Date: August 2009
ISBN:978-1-59632-986-7
Genre/Theme: Vampire Paranormal
Length: Novel
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Kieren St. James, master of the Enclave, lives to protect mankind from those of his kind who would rend and tear them in bloodlust. He keeps his heart to himself, because those he loves tend to be killed by Marguerite, the evilest of all. Until, one day, he is found, badly injured, by a nurse named Emily and all bets are off.
I enjoyed this story a great deal. Kieren and Emily are likeable (and sexy!) characters with depth. I cheered for them and their future from the moment they met, hoping they would find a way to have a happily ever after.The other members of the Enclave were well developed and interesting enough that I wanted to know what would happen with them in the future. I hope Ms. Lee will include them in future stories, particularly Arran and Gabrielle.Overall, Desire to Die For is a romantic, adventurous Vampire Paranormal, and I highly recommend it to fans of the genre.
Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Sky

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Through the Fire by Beth Trissel


Through the Fire
Beth Trissel
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: 2009
ISBN: 1601544715
Genre: Historical (American Rose)
Length: 332 pages
Buy this Book


Author’s Website

Review:

At the height of the French and Indian War, a young English widow ventures into the colonial frontier in search of a fresh start. She never expects to find it in the arms of the half-Shawnee, half-French warrior who makes her his prisoner in the raging battle to possess a continent––or to be aided by a mysterious white wolf and a holy man.

Wow! What another great read from Beth Trissel. The story was captivating and beautiful. The author brings you into the story creating a storyline that is mystical and timeless. The characters stand in a league all their own, it’s easy for the readers to fall in love with these characters. And believe me you won’t soon forget them either. The plot is thrilling and enchanting. If you love historicals you are going to love this story and you are going to love this author. Ms. Trissel truly has a magical way with words. I really cannot wait to read her next one!



Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Bella Wolfe


Saturday, September 12, 2009

Shutter by Trista Ann Michaels


Shutter

Trista Ann Michaels

LooseId

Sept 2009

ISBN 978-1-60737-423-7

Erotic/Ménage m/m/f

204 pages




Review:


Nathan and Derrik have shared women since college without a problem. That changes when Bethany, an intriguing woman with a history of abuse joins Derrik's father's group of beauties. They watch her for years, waiting for her to grow up and regain the confidence her step-father's abuse stole from her. Happy being a photographer and doing what she loves, Bethany doesn't necessarily want a man but finds herself ensnared by two who have been her friends long enough for her to trust them. When the two men's friendship is strained by their feelings for her, she takes matters into her own hands and demands the relationship she's afraid of but can't seem to live without.


I love the play on words in the title. It's one of my favorite things about the story. It starts slow though there is no shortage of action or sex, just a little predictable until the end when the ménage finally comes together. Then Ms. Michaels turns the heat right up and the slow start becomes an afterthought. I give Shutter three smacks because the plot did take some set up and made it a little slow, but I add another half a smack for the last ménage scenes because they were pretty fantastic and made it well worth the wait.


Rating: 3.5 smacks

Heat level: Explicit

Other: m/m/f, anal

Reviewer: StephB

Beginner's Luck by Karenna Colcroft



Title: Beginner’s Luck


Author:Karenna Colcroft


Publisher: Pink Petal BooksPublished


Date: September, 2009


ISBN: 9780982543528


Genre/Theme: Erotic


Length: Novella (69 Pages)


Buy this Book


Author’s Website





Review:





Kyla and Alec are in love. And they have great, bed-banging sex. But Alec wants something else now, he wants her ass. And it’s not that Kyla hasn’t had the same idea herself, but now that the idea is out in the open it’s just a bit scary. And yet totally intriguing.

Ms. Colcroft really has it down. Lots of us nice girls are really open to all kinds of fun and interesting activities with our significant other, if only we have the guts to ask.
And Alec is the kind of guy that is open to a girl’s wildest fantasies. Anal sex may have been his idea, but she had the thought, and next time she may be brave enough to come up with the ideas first.

It was great to read the story of a couple truly in love as they learn to trust each other in the bedroom and out. And make each other’s fantasies a reality. This book was not for the faint-hearted, and has detailed descriptions of Kyla and Alec’s adventures in anal. But if you like utterly sizzling bedroom scenes between a couple truly in love, this is the book to read. Erotica, with a plot and a soul!

Rating: 5 Smacks



Heat Level: Erotica


Other: Anal Play
Reviewer:Sky

Friday, September 11, 2009

Going with Gravity by Cate Masters


Going with Gravity
Cate Masters
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: July 15, 2009
Genre: Contemporary
Length: 68 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


Review:

Publicist Allison Morris plans her own life – what’s left of it – around the life of her boss Michelle McCarter, the ex-wife of a famous rock star. When Michelle needs emergency public relations patchwork in Hawaii pronto, Allison arranges a flight to the dream destination. At the airport, she meets Wes Hamilton, a six-foot-three, sun-bleached blond whose blue eyes and dazzling smile rekindle her fizzled-out sizzle. A world-renowned surfer, Wes captivates her with his charm and wit, though his easy fame and on-the-edge lifestyle are the polar opposite of her own.

When their jet encounters serious trouble in mid-air, she takes advantage of what she thinks are her last minutes alive with Wes. The plane lands safely. Wes takes care of her when her carefully constructed life begins to unravel. When Michelle accuses Allison of using Wes to gain fame for herself, Allison’s world falls apart in an explosive confrontation. Wes is waiting with open arms when she has nowhere else to go, but can Allison learn to stop planning and go with gravity?

Wow! Talk about a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. I was so captured by these characters and this plot. I had to know what was going to happen next. I had to keep reading until I found out the fate of these two characters. Could all really be forgiven and forgotten? Ms. Masters has given us another masterpiece. She has given us another story to stay up way past our bedtime to read. Never read a Cate Masters book? What’s wrong with you? You are missing out on a great author who writes such romantic tales that really touch your soul.

Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Holli Winters

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Enemy of the King by Beth Trissel


Enemy of the King
Beth Trissel
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: 2009
ISBN: 1601544936
Genre: Historical (American Rose)
Length: 334 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


Review:

1780, South Carolina: While Loyalist Meriwether Steele recovers from illness in the stately home of her beloved guardian, Jeremiah Jordan, she senses the haunting presence of his late wife. When she learns that Jeremiah is a Patriot spy and shoots Captain Vaughan, the British officer sent to arrest him, she is caught up on a wild ride into Carolina back country, pursued both by the impassioned captain and the vindictive ghost. Will she remain loyal to her king and Tory twin brother or risk a traitor’s death fighting for Jeremiah? If Captain Vaughan snatches her away, he won’t give her a choice.

I love historical romances. They are one of my favorites and anymore when I think of a historical I think of Beth Trissel. She is an author who has proved herself over time. She is a beautiful storyteller. Ms. Trissel can take a story line and make it a work of art. And she did just that with Enemy of the King. This tale was so wonderful; it really was a magical read. As soon as I started reading I felt like I was in the pages. The author has a way of pulling you into the story; this is your story. I could see the characters and the images Ms. Trissel described as if I were there or watching a film on TV. It’s a classic read for the ages and I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to read a true fairy-tale. Thank you Beth Trissel for providing your readers with another amazing read! I cannot wait for your next release.


Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Bella Wolfe

At His Command by Felicia Forella



At His Command
Felicia Forella
Wilder Roses Press
Pub Date: July 2009
Contemporary Erotic (Cougar Club)
139 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


Review:


With a long and bitter divorce behind her, Julia Stone is barely back on her feet when she's suddenly swept off them again by a hot young executive with a healthy appetite for sexual dominance. But after years of emotional submission to a controlling ex, will she choose to submit?Workaholic Dalton Fairchild has slaved night and day to build his own computer technology company. All work and no play makes Dalton a boring boy. However, a chance encounter with Julia challenges the dom in him, and he must convince her that, though she's At His Command, submission is the ultimate power.
Talk about a super hot read. My new favorite genre is the Cougar Club. I love older women and younger men…maybe because I’m a little older and would love to be at a younger man’s command. The scenes were so hot between the characters. I was sitting at my computer in total amazement reading this book. I would totally recommend this to any romance reader, to any BDSM fan, to any Cougar looking for a younger man:)




Rating: 4 smacks
Heat: Spicy
Other: BDSM, anal sex
Reviewer: Tara

Flipside Erotica by Darren Michaels


FlipSide Erotica
Darren Michaels
Self-Published
Erotica
Length: 116 pages (her side) 112 pages (his side)
Buy this Book


Author


Review:

FlipSide Erotica is a collection of short erotica stories. The author claims that some of these stories actually happened to him, some are his imagination and the rest are stories that did happen, but he changed the facts to fit how he wished things had happened.

This book is not considered an erotic romance. This is a book about sex, sex and more sex. It’s really like reading porn. A way to get your fix, so to say. I would not recommend this book to a romance fan. The stories are told in first person and really seem amateur, this book was not what I had originally thought it was. The one thing I did like was how the stories are first told in the woman’s perspective and then the man’s perspective. Although as a woman, one who appreciates sex, and erotic romance, I just could not see any solid foundation with this writing. Apparently this author is working on a second volume…maybe it will be better than this one! If you are looking to read short stories all in the 1st person, and practically reading porn than this is a book for you! But if you are looking for stories that involve emotion and everyday life with hot sex mixed in this book is not for you.

Rating: 2 smacks
Heat: Explicit (over 18)
Other: f/m/f
Reviewer: Tara

Friday, September 4, 2009

Rocky Mountain Heat: Six Pack Ranch-Book One by Vivian Arend


Rocky Mountain Heat: Six Pack Ranch-Book One

Vivian Arend

Liquid Silver Books

Pub Date: 2009

ISBN 978-1-59578-588-6

Romance

Length: 80




Review:


Little Jaxi started out loving the whole Coleman family. As the only child of perfectly nice, but private parents, but big, boisterous family with six sons was a treat she couldn't resist. Then she started growing up and the only Coleman she couldn't get out of her mind was the oldest son, Blake. She saves herself for him, makes herself the best woman she can be so she's ready when he finally looks her way and though he wants her, in his eyes she's still too young. A little resistance doesn't stop her plans though and with a little help from the rest of the Coleman clan, Jaxi sets out to get her man.


Rocky Mountain Heat is short, sweet and an awesome set up for what I hope is an erotic and fun series. Six, sexy studs in all, the Coleman clan made me laugh and made me want to be part of their family. Vivian Arendt shows a real knowledge of men in her depiction of the brothers. They are naughty, authentic and utterly irresistible. I give Rocky Mountain Heat four smacks with the option for more once the series is completed. It's hot and sweet right now, but I could see the rest of the brothers jacking that up to smoking!



Rating: 4 smacks

Heat Level: spicy

Other: oral, a little ménage

Review: StephB

The Wolves' Submissive by Ava Rose Johnson


The Wolves' Submissive

Ava Rose Johnson

Loose ID

Pub Date: Aug 2009

ISBN 978-1-59632-945-4

BSDM, ménage

Length: 122




Review:


Stavros and Caine love their mate, the human princess that completes them but while political unrest grows, so does the pressure to make her a werewolf, like them. Stavros is all for making Abigail one of them and can't understand why Caine insists on waiting. Worse, his brother is beginning to pull back from the relationship and making Abigail fear they no longer want her.Caine's issue is submission. To be a wolf, the human princess they adore will first have to submit to their will. It is imperative if she is to make the change and be safe from the volatile female wolf she could become. Caine loves her, but fears hurting her in the steps necessary to make her their mate forever. A born submissive, Abigail must change his mind.


I had a heck of a time leaving my computer once I started reading The Wolves' Submissive. It is a short story and in a different sort of reality but Ava Rose Johnson keeps to the important issues at hand and like I said, I couldn't look away. The sex scenes are hot and rough but always affectionate. Once the submission training starts there's even more love between the three and I'm glad there were some things left undone because I want to read more as soon as possible. I give The Wolves' Submissive five smacks. You should read it and tomorrow is probably a good day.


Rating: 5 smacks

Heat Level: Explicit

Other: bondage, submissive, anal, multiple partners

Review: StephB

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Raquel's Abel by Leigh Barbour


Raquel's Abel


Leigh Barbour


Red Rose Publishing


Pub Date: 2009


ISBN: 978-1-60435-355-6


Romantic Fiction


Length: 275 Pages


Buy this Book


Author's Website



Review:


Raquel is an overweight woman whose life is becoming consumed by her never-ending appetite. When her career as an author is negatively effected by her size and her doctor warns of health problems she decides to undergo gastric bypass surgery.

While Raquel changes her life for the better, her resident ghost, Abel Rollins makes his dissent known. He doesn't want her to get the surgery because of his fear of surgery and hospitals. Killed in WWI he's been dead over fifty years but his memories and fear lives on. As his unease diminishes, his love for Raquel grows, as does the strength that allows him to stay with her for moments at a time.

Raquel's Abel is a heart-warming story. It is always amazing when the chubby, down on her luck girl makes good and seizes the day. Leigh Barbour's side cast of Raquel's grandmother, nurse and sister adds fun sprinkles of humor and humanity. I give it three smacks because it's not to my personal taste and I wanted to smack Raquel for being so judgmental and whiney at times. People with personal interest in weight troubles and enjoy a sweet, nearly non-sexual story will enjoy it because Raquel's Abel fits.


Rating: 3 smacks


Heat Level: sweet


Other: a little ghost kissing


Reviewer: Steph B.


Saturday, August 29, 2009

The Cobra Murders by Jane Greenhill


Title: The Cobra Murders
Author: Jane Greenhill
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Published Date: 8-07-2009
ISBN: 1-60154-527-4
Genre/Theme: Romantic Suspense
Length: 232 pages



Blurb: Homicide Detective Simon Keirsey spends his spare time working a personal cold case--the unsolved murder of his mother, film star Mary Margaret, thirty years earlier.Recent killings committed by the murderer the press has dubbed The Cobra Killer unexpectedly tie to his mother's death and give Simon a renewed sense of vengeance.Mary Margaret's mansion now houses the town's museum and employee Alice McClure is comforted by the ghost who walks the halls humming 1980's tunes.As Simon and Alice race against time to determine who the killer is, will they be able to solve the mystery before another victim is claimed and the murderer's personal vendetta ante is upped?


Review: Romantic suspense is one of my favorite genres to read. When an author has you questioning who the murderer is til almost the end, you know you have a good book. There are several twists and turns and a couple scenes which have you wondering where the author is taking you on this journey. Don't worry because in the end, it all comes to a happy ending.A couple of the characters got under my skin. One in particular, Holly, I just could not stand. Once you start reading, you will understand why. There is an underlying story with two of the other characters, Karen and Greg, I would love to know more about. At first, I was a little confused in the plot and some of the characters. This is why I could not give it five smacks. However the author, Jane Greenhill, made me a believer of her story telling ability by the end. I would like to read more of her work in the future. You will not be disappointed picking up this book.


Rating: 4.5 Smacks

Heat Level: Spicy

Reviewer: Roberta

Friday, August 28, 2009

Perfect Formation by KB Alan


 
Title: Perfect Formation
Author: KB Alan
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Published date: 2009
ISBN: 9781419922022
Genre/Theme: Menage, BDSM, contemporary
Length: 133 pages
Buy Link 
Author’s Website
 

Friends for much longer than they’ve been lovers, Taryn and Richard enjoy each other’s company while looking for “Mr. Right”. When the darkly handsome Caleb walks into their lives, the sexual attraction is instant and mutual—for all three. Caleb wines and dines them then shows them how good it can be if they trust him to lead the way. One night is all it takes to prove that the three of them are a perfect match, at least in the bedroom.

Taryn has to decide if explosive sex and the feelings quickly overtaking her are worth the risk of losing it all—again. Richard sees Caleb and Taryn as the perfect couple but isn’t so sure there will always be room for him in their ménage a trois. Sexual dominant Caleb has to suppress his urge to tie them to the bed until they understand that they both belong with him—forever. But if they don’t come around soon, he’ll be pulling those ropes out after all.

This was a fantastic story, highly sensual, sexual and romantic, as well. Taryn, Richard and Caleb’s immediate and intense connection is tempered by her insecurities and some suspense and drama that make all three of them take a step back and decide if their love for each other is enough to pull them through and make their arrangement permanent. I especially liked Caleb’s ability to let his love for both partners shine, sometimes enough for all three, until Richard and Taryn can let down their guard enough to love him back the way all three of them want and deserve. The emotions and reactions are well-thought out, written and believable. Definitely a page turner and worth the time – highly recommended reading!!

Rating: 4.5
Heat Level: Erotic
Other: m/f/m, oral sex, anal play, BDSM

Reviewer: Valerie Mann

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Mr. Charming by Nancy J. Parra


Title: Mr. Charming

Author: Nancy J. Parra

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Published Date: 7-31-2009

ISBN: 1-60154-524-X

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Length: 218 pages




Blurb: Sometimes the worst place to hide is in plain sight. Jennifer Sumner is a single mom with a secret past. At the request of her brother, lead investigator on the case, she takes in a wealthy playboy who is pretending to be dead. Jennifer walks a fine line as she struggles with the press, who can expose both the playboy and her troubled past, the playboy who threatens her lonely heart, and the killer who now wants them both dead. Can her brother catch the killer before her hard earned life comes crashing down around her?
Review: When you start a book you can't put down, you know you have a winner on your hands. The author, Nancy J. Parra has woven a tale of intrigue, mystery and love. When you first start to read about Jennifer and Kane, you really don't know how to take them. Jennifer is an independent woman with high standards/morals. She is not to keen on having what she thinks is a playboy, Kane, in her home. Kane, on the other hand, will take you by surprise at some of the things he does for Jennifer and Thomas throughout the book.
What I loved most about this book, and the reason I gave it such a high rating is the way the author deals with Thomas. Thomas is Jennifer's son and an important part of her life. I like the fact the book is just not focused completely on Jennifer and Kane but brings Thomas to the front of the story as well.
I read this book online. However, it is available in print also. I would highly recommend both versions. Personally, I would love to have this book in print. It would make a nice addition to your library.
Rating: 4.5 Smacks
Heat Level: Sensual
Reviewer: Roberta

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Dark Host by Kim Knox


Title: Dark Host

Author: Kim Knox

Publisher: Liquid Silver Books

Published Date: 2009

ISBN: 978-1-59578-571-8

Genre/Theme: Paranormal

Length: 60 Pages




Review


On a luxury liner, filled with rich people waiting to watch a star go nova, Charis Sur is assigned to covertly protect one of the most important of the VIPs. He is, however, already being guarded by Jason Narak, who Charis never wants to see again. In an atmosphere of political intrigue, and with a strange alien presence onboard, personal interests quickly give way to the urgency of a situation that may affect the entire galaxy. And for Charis and Jason, feline Mosaics, the fact that she’s suddenly in heat isn’t helping matters.

For such a short story, Kim Knox packs a lot of romance and action into her plot. The main characters are likeable and interesting, and the storyline fascinating. Most of the other characters are just what you’d expect from people who would have a huge party while a star dies.

If you read this book, plan to read it in one sitting, because it’s very difficult to pull away. There is no moment of downtime as Charis and Jason navigate the corridors of the INS Padigion while trying to deal with their history together. This was my first Kim Knox book, but I went right to her website to see what other delights await. (Don’t miss the free reads there, too!)

Rating: 4 Smacks

Heat Level: Sensual

Reviewer: Sky

Monday, August 24, 2009

The Price of Submission by Michelle Cary

Title: The Price Of Submission
Author: Michelle Cary
Publisher: Loose Id LLC
Published date: August 2009
ISBN: 978-1-59632-989-8
Genre/Theme: BDSM Erotic Contemporary
Length: 114 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website

Review:

The Price Of submission is a wonderful read about trust and love. A woman who knows nothing about the lifestyle of BDSM has signed herself over for a year into the care of a millionaire who wants to keep her as a submissive. As the story progresses Misty learns about herself and what she may enjoy in the bedroom. She grows from a young naive girl into a woman who knows just what it is that she wants. Garron a tycoon who has never felt deeply for anyone before, begins to be enthralled with Misty after having her in his life for only a short time. As they come together the adventures begin.


Misty’s waitressing job falls through and not wanting to go back to live with her mother she decides to talk to her former boss Travis about an offer from his best friend Garron. The tycoon is looking for a woman to be his submissive for a year. She tours a sex club with Travis and even tries a night as a submissive for Garron before making her final decision. Misty finds that she is turned on by the things that she sees and is also curious about the lifestyle in all. So she decides to sign a contract to be Garrons submissive for a year. Misty has baggage of her own to deal with as well as that of learning what being a submissive is all about. She must open herself up to Garron and learn to trust him. Misty tries to keep her heart guarded but begins to have feelings for Garron. Garron starts to have feelings of his own for Misty as well but he himself is confused over this turn of events. Never before has he felt this strongly for a submissive.While Misty and Garron are trying to figure out just what their relationship is bad things keep happening to Misty. Can both Misty and Garron let their love grow and trust each other? Can they figure out just who is out to get Misty before it is too late?


This book had me glued to the pages trying to figure out just what was going to happen next. It is a great flowing book full of twists that I never saw coming. I enjoyed the friendship that Misty and Garron developed and the love that grew as the story went on was a beautiful thing. Watching Misty come into her own was a great thing to see and the scene in the playroom where Misty welcomes and begins to enjoy her feelings for both Travis and Garron is a great read.


Michelle Cary did a wonderful job with this book. She has brought a lot of depth into her characters and the mystery she brought to the story only enhanced the enjoyment of the book.I truly enjoyed this story and will defiantly be looking for more reads from this author.

Rating: 4 smacks
Heat Level: Explicit
Other: m/f/m, f/f, anal play, voyeurism, BDSM
Reviewer: Gabrielle

Saturday, August 22, 2009

The One That Got Away by Kathryn Gerbert


Title: The One That Got Away
Author: Kathryn Gerbert
Publisher: Wild Horse Press
Published date: April 28, 2009
Genre/Theme: Contemporary Romance
Length: 64 pages
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Review:

Jennifer found herself on a plane, on her wedding day, ALONE! Though her wedding day didn't go as planned, there is a certain someone who felt it necessary to keep her company on her "all alone honeymoon". Enter Jared, an old boyfriend who has never stopped having feelings about Jennifer, but another man is NOT what she had in mind. Will Jennifer give Jared one more chance?

Oh my gosh, I loved how this story started out! I would be shocked to see any old boyfriend of mine next to me, on a plane, bound for a honeymoon I had to take alone! This was such a fun story that I am so glad I spent a few hours of my afternoon reading. I laughed when I read the part about her waiting to see if Ashton Kutcher would be popping out of somewhere! The characters were those I could easily relate to and I loved how persistent Jared was. Kudos to the author for not making the heroine a skinny minny model type!

I have never read anything by Kathryn Gerbert before and I enjoyed reading The One That Got Away. The storied just flowed at the perfect pace with the perfect balance of drama and humor! I wish I could give this story a higher rating than the highest that we have. I highly recommend this book to ANYONE who loves a fun-filled charming read. The One That Got Away is a book that proves that love doesn't always happen when we think it will. I so wish that this story was longer! Hey, maybe we can convince Ms. Gerbert to do a sequel? I am not above begging!

Rating: 5 smacks
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Elizabeth

The Trust She Yields by Jennifer Leeland


Title: The Trust She Yields

Author: Jennifer Leeland

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Published date: July 2009

Genre/Theme: BDSM

Length: 94 pages




Lee Sidle moved to another state for a good reason. To escape a BDSM relationship gone horribly wrong. But she's a submissive down to her bones, and when a sexy Dom offers her thirty days, her fear wars with her needs. She might accept, but she'll never surrender.
David Peters is used to healing the broken, and Lee needs his confident touch. He doesn't expect to learn any lessons himself, yet this submissive tests him in ways he never anticipated. When her past comes back to haunt her, his one desire is to ride to the rescue. Instead, David and Lee discover her survival lies in the trust she yields.


I haven't had a story touch me like this in a very long time. The depth of emotion between Lee and David was so credible and tangible, my heart literally pounded in several places (because I'm a sucker for a good love story) and I'm not ashamed to admit that I did shed a few tears, which I never do! Sure, the sex was thoroughly erotic and HOT, but I never felt like the author was throwing sex in purely for the sake of sex. There was always an underlying respect between Lee and David and I appreciated it all the more. Whether the reader is in the lifestyle or not, she will be able to relate to these characters and for that, The Trust She Yields gets five smacks. Oh heck, I'm giving it six because I'm a rule-breaker and this book deserves it!


Rating: 5 smacks (make that 6 smacks)

Heat Level: Erotic
Other: oral sex, anal play, BDSM

Reviewer: Valerie Mann

Friday, August 21, 2009

Master of the Mountain by Cherise Sinclair


Title: Master Of The Mountain
Author: Cherise Sinclair
Publisher: Loose Id LLC
Published date: August 2009
ISBN: 978-1-59632-992-8
Genre/Theme: BDSM
Length: 207 pages
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Review:
Master Of The Mountain is a beautiful story about a woman coming into her own. Rebecca is dealing with self-image issues and is extremely afraid of dogs because of an attack as a child. She has no idea about the world of BDSM and has to be brought in slowly and learn that it is ok to want and get excited sexually by certain kinds of things that others may be offended by.
Matt and Rebecca’s sex life leaves a lot to be desired. So Rebecca agrees to go with him to a swingers weekend vacation at Serenity Lodge as a last ditch effort to try and fix their relationship. Once there she tries to go along with the swingers but quickly finds out that swinging is not for her. She runs to hide in her cabin only to find Matt there already enjoying himself with Ashley. So she finds the only place she can to sleep: the front porch swing. Rebecca may be freezing but she refuses to go back to either the cabin or inside the lodge where the rest of the swingers are having it up. Logan the lodge owner finds her asleep and on her way to hypothermia. He brings her up to his quarters and warms her up. Once she wakes up and is coherent Logan recognizes what excites her. Yet she still cannot stop feeling ashamed at feeling excited over such things. Throughout the weekend Logan slowly brings her into his world and shows her it is ok to want and enjoy these things.
Logan suffers from nightmares from his time served at war and even tried to kill his own brother once upon awakening from a bad nightmare. He has since vowed to always be alone. When Rebecca tries to stay with him he abruptly tells her no and that it was only for the weekend.
Once again Rebecca thinks that she is rejected because of her weight. He may have told her he loved her body but to her actions speak louder than words. When Logan finally realizes he loves her and needs her he goes to the city to find her but instead he finds her phone disconnected and her apartment empty. Will Logan find Rebecca and prove just how much he loves her? Can Rebecca get over her self-image and insecurities?
I was hooked on this book from the very first page. I truly enjoyed the depth of the characters. It was great to see Rebecca grow and start to loose her insecurities and let herself feel good. Logan is a great alpha male. Dominating yet caring and with his own insecurities it makes him all the more endearing. The trust and love that blossoms between the two was a beautiful thing to read. The scene in the club was defiantly a wonderful show of their love and the way Logan gets her to trust his massive dog Thor was sweet.
This book is not to be missed. I cannot wait for more reads from this author, especially more from some of the other characters in this story. I would love to see Jake or Simon have their own story.


Rating: 4 ½ smacks
Heat Level: erotic
Other: m/f, anal play,BDSM,
Reviewer: Gabrielle

Spirited by Cari Z



Title: Spirited
Author: Cari Z
Publisher: Pink Petal Books
Published date:August, 2009
ISBN: N/A
Genre/Theme: Sensual Paranormal
Length: 52 Pages
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Review: Andi can’t forgive Darren for letting her die. Ok, he brought her back after he captured the bad guy, but a thing like that is a deal breaker for her. Now, five years later, she’s in the detective in charge of a magical drug bust, and Darren is the only one with the skills to help her before more people die.

This is a good story about love the second time around. Everyone makes mistakes, and Darren has made a great big one but Cari Z has brought us a character who is not one to just forgive and forget and move on. Andi doesn’t give her heart easily and hasn’t been able to take it back at all. Having to work with someone who has hurt a girl that badly is just, ouch! (Been there, done that) And of course we all root for Darren to be much more than he seems.

I recommend this story, the scenes flowed from one to the next in a way that made it very hard to put down. I always love a story where the heroine can hold her own with the big boys, and hold onto her femininity. I’d gladly read any more stories that Cari wants to give us with these characters or any more she’d like to share.

Rating: 4 Smacks
Heat Level: Spicy
Other:
Reviewer: Sky

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Dog Nanny by Ann Whitaker


Dog Nanny
Ann Whitaker
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date 2008
ISNB: 1-60154-448-0
Romantic/Comedy
Length: 335
Buy Book Here!
Author Website

Review: Animals are Julie's calling so she's devoted her privileged life to
caring for sick animals as a vet tech and helping start animal shelters. When
her boss goes on vacation, she heads to west Texas to help train two out of
control poodles. A born again virgin she resists handsome, charismatic pilot,
Nick. Somehow. Between Nick's fear of dogs and her new aversion to flying,
commitment and good looking men, will the couple ever make it past the first
command?

Dog Nanny is cute. Ann Whitaker writes endearing and interesting characters
and through it all I was hoping that the next trial would finally break the
bubbles they kept around themselves. Carmen, the poodle owner, is my favorite
and she provides a lot of comic relief when the main characters insist on being
stubborn. I give the story three smacks. It is sweet and interesting and made
me smile.

Rating: 3 smacks
Heat: sweet
Other: m/f
Reviewer: Steph B

Saturday, August 8, 2009

It Happened One Hurricane by Carla Rossi


Title: It Happened One Hurricane
Author: Carla Rossi
Publisher: Wild Rose Publishing
Published date:
Genre/Theme: Contemporary
Length: 53 Pages
Buy Book Here!
Author’s Website

Review:

Amber Kensington moved to Texas to start over. Alex Clarke is the kind of guy who takes care of those around him. When a Hurricane causes an evacuation, he finds that Amber is stranded when her car does not start. Amber is very weary of men so her attitude toward Alex is pretty harsh. Will Amber and Alex be able to overcome their past hurts and form a friendship?

I really loved It Happened One Hurricane. I thought Alex's character was so incredibly funny. From the beginning when Alex prays to God and says "God, please don't let me scream like a girl!" to the very end when he finds himself fumbling like a teenager, this book made me laugh. I love to read a book that has a sweet message about love and God. It Happened One Hurricane is a book that you don't want to miss. It's a book that EVERYONE can read which really appeals to me because I have three teenage daughters who constantly ask me for books to read. Most of the time it's on an adult level so the answer has to be no. It Happened One Hurricane is one of those kinds of books that I feel great comfort in letting my daughters read. It has a message that I think just about everyone needs to read.

I love reading work by Carla Rossi. Her writing style flows smoothly and the subject matter is very relatable. Her characters always have problems that seem like "real life" problems which is what draws me into her stories. I recommend this story to anyone who would like a really fun, sweet and quick read. You will not be disappointed.

Rating: 4 smacks
Heat Level: sweet
Other:m/f
Reviewer: Elizabeth

Thursday, August 6, 2009

Spanking the Psychic by Nicole L. Pierce


Spanking the Psychic
Nicole L Pierce
Red Rose Publishing
Pub Date: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-60435-363-1
Genre: erotic
Length: 276
Buy Book Here
Author Website

Miracle has always seen the man of her dreams in her visions. He's the only one that will complete her as a person and satisfy her sexually. As a psychic, she helps others but can't help herself in this one area so she waits for him. Blake is a troubled man with a failed marriage and dead child on his conscience. When he enters Miracle the psychic's office he expects to be let down but he ends up with so much more.

Spanking The Psychic does indeed include loads of spanking, bondage and dominance scenes. There is a liberal use of toys and location for added effect. Nicole L Pierce knows how to write a sex scene and make the edgier aspects still romantic and loving. I give the story three smacks. I would recommend it to people who are looking for creative sex and enjoy a paranormal feel to a story. The rest of the story is interesting enough, some very heartfelt, deep moments that I enjoyed quite a lot, but not enough to give it more than the three smacks.

Rating: 3 Smacks
Heat: HOT
Other: m/f, BDSM
Reviewer: Steph B

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

The Duchess by Rhonda Lee


Title: The Duchess
Author: Rhonda Lee
Publisher: Eternal Press
Published date:September, 2008
ISBN:978-1-897559-32-1
Genre/Theme:Hist/BDSM
Length: 102 pages
Buy Book Here
Author’s Website

Review: While the Duke’s away, the Duchess must play, so play she does. Milord’s lovemaking leaves a lot to be desired, and Milady decides to use her position to get just about every one of her subjects into a variety of interesting positions. After all, what’s the point of having peasants if you can’t put them to good use? And the Duchess’s inner dominatrix springs forward to make sure that they are all well used.

Okay,so there wasn’t all that much plot, but I don’t think you’ll miss it. This is pure erotica, and very creative it is too. The author keeps the story moving and the reader wondering what the Duchess will think of next and who she will do it to. And what will happen when the Duke returns? Will he like the changes to the dungeon? So, maybe there was a little plot, but it wasn’t the point. All I can say is, sequel please? I’m dying to know what she’ll think of next.


Rating: 4 Smacks
Heat Level:Erotica
Other: f/f, voyeurism, BDSM
Reviewer:Sky