Friday, November 13, 2009

Case of Love by Wendy Stone

Title: Case of Love

Author: Wendy Stone

Publisher: Eternal Press

Published date: November 2009

ISBN: eBook 978-1-926704-81-4 / Print 978-1-926704-89-0

Genre/Theme: Contemporary

Length: Novel

Buy Link

Author’s Website

When reporter Mackenzie Hunter goes looking for a story and stumbles into a drug sting, she expects the worst but finds the best. Undercover detective Gideon Hawkins finds himself inexplicably drawn to the dark-haired beauty who goes looking for trouble without reason. If she waits a minute, it seeks her out all on its own. Trouble follows them both actually. As a cop and a hard hitting reporter the two of them are bound to stir things up. Drug dealers, angry psychos, fire, and overly protective family members prevent the two of them from ever being board as they struggle to overcome danger while discovering one another.

I loved both of these characters. Mackenzie is sweet and determined without being weak or overly pushy; Hawk is rough around the edges but incredibly loving; and the supporting characters, especially the Hunter family, add the perfect sense of reality to the mix. Ms. Stone’s tale of romance amid danger and mayhem with just a little humor to balance things out provided a delightful read.

Despite a few redundancies and inconsistencies in dialogue and behavior, Case of Love is well written and a fun read overall. I would recommend it as an exciting escape.

Rating: 3.5 whips

Heat Level: Erotic

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Child of My Heart by Merry Stahel

Title: Child of My Heart
Author: Merry Stahel
Publisher:White Rose Publishing
Published date: 2009
Genre/Theme: Contemporary romance
Length: 63 pages
Hannah didn’t expect to be raising her mother’s surrogate child. But Baby Seth’s parents also died, and he has no one else...Until Uncle Aaron shows up, demanding that Hannah give up her half-brother to his family, since genetically, Seth is their son.
Can the love of one tiny baby unite two families?

Review: Child of My Heart is a warm and enchanting story of a situation of unusual circumstances that leads to romance and a happy ending. The author brought in the emotions of the characters that struck me with reality.

rating: 4 flames
heat level: sweet
Reviewer: Jennifer R.

Friday, October 16, 2009

The Stranger Behind the Kiss by Tess Thieler

Title: The Stranger Behind the Kiss
Author: Tess Thieler
Publisher: Wild Rose Press
Published date: 2009
Genre/Theme: Crimson Rose Contemporary
Length: 17 pages

Alone and having just moved to a new small town, Arden Majors treats herself to a wonderfully romantic movie that leaves her primed to be kissed. Little did she know that the ruggedly handsome man racing down the dimly lit alley towards her would fulfill that need. By allowing this stranger to impulsively kiss her, Arden inadvertently rescues him from a dangerous position. The tables suddenly turned on Detective Jake Summers' surveillance job and now two drug dealers want him and the video that would put them behind bars. With fate forcing them to work together, can these two passionate strangers stay focused on the situation, and not on each other, long enough to ensure their safety…and their future?

I think it's every woman's fantasy to have a total stranger kiss the daylights out of her. Jake Summers does just that and knocks both he and Arden's socks off in the process. Instant desire flares between them. Throw in a few drug dealers,an explosion and an abduction, and they've bonded big-time. This was a fun read that packed a lot of story into a small space. I look forward to reading more from Tess Thieler!

Rating: 4 flames
Heat Level: sensual
Reviewer: Jillian

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Wolfe, She Cried by Bliss Addison

Title: Wolfe, She Cried
Author: Bliss Addison
Publisher: Write Words, Inc.
Published Date: April 2007
ISBN: 9781594315213
Genre/Theme: Mystery/Crime/Susp/Thriller
Length: Novel

Blurb: The day Chief of Police Simon Wolfe anxiously awaited arrives---the only woman he has ever loved and fellow police officer, Evie Madison, returns home. When an island resident is heinously murdered Simon enlists Evie's help with the investigation.
What trace evidence is left behind is virtually useless, at least until they have a suspect. Soon after, two men are identically murdered on the mainland. As Simon and Evie become closer and the investigation progresses, he uncovers evidence that leads him to believe Evie is the killer. Will Simon have the courage to arrest her?
When first starting this book, it will blow you away. Once you get into the book, there are a few places where the plot slows down. Please keep with it. The way the plot gets twisted around will have you turning the pages as fast as you can. You will also be pondering exactly where the author is leading you. I was completely surprised by the ending in a good way.
The two main characters, Simon and Evie, will have you rooting for their relationship from the beginning. There happens to be quite a bit of dialogue throughout the book. Some of the banter between the characters will have you laughing in places. Each character have demons from their past they have to deal with. Evie has more than anyone should have to deal with.
This is definitely a book for a suspense junkie to read. Please pick this up, you will not be disappointed in the least.

Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Sensual
Reviewer: Roberta

Her Maine Man by Sylvie Kaye

Title: Her Maine Man
Author: Sylvie Kaye
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press – Champagne Rose
Pub Date: 2008
ISBN: 1-60154-460-X
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 331 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website

Review: Maddie wants a one-weekend affair with Jon, a sexy stranger visiting Maine. Jon couldn’t believe the deal when it was offered to him, but why pass it up? Maybe because Maddie’s family is full of scandal and everyone has their eyes on the lookout for a scandal. Things go great between the two until lies and deception play into the plan and once a year isn’t nearly enough.

Ms. Kaye creates a world I want to escape to. Her Maine Man was a book full heart felt romance, sensual kisses, lies and deception. Just these four points will capture your attention from the beginning and keep your interest until the last word and still leave you yearning for more. In my reading experience, authors either describe their characters until we are tired of them or leave us hanging for details. Maddie and Jon are implanted in my mind. I know every feature, every movement, and every detail. I know just enough about both characters to keep up with the story without wondering more about them.

There are several twits and turns in this novel that will have the reader’s mind reeling with information and clueless to what’s going to happen. You can guess, you may even think you know, but Ms. Kaye will send a delightful surprise your way.

I honestly believe Sylvie Kaye has taken a simple story plot and made it into a masterpiece. I will be on the lookout for more books by her!

Rating: 5 Flames
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Tonya Callihan

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

When the Bough Breaks by Miss Mae

Title: When the Bough Breaks
Author: Miss Mae
Published date: October 12, 2009
ISBN: 978-1-936167-01-2
Genre/Theme: Young Adult
Length: 194 pages
Darlene Moore's reason for shunning Parker Shane has nothing to do with his reputation of being a playboy. She even dates him before the death of her mother forces her to move away. After a two-year absence from Dalesville, she returns home to find Parker exchanging wedding vows with her sister. Two months later, her sister dies.

Danger and questions a plenty barrage Darlene with the deadly speed of a six-shooter. Who called down a representative from a Washington agency? Who later assaulted him? Who attacked Darlene at her friend's apartment? And will Parker's scandalous brand of playboy be changed to one of murderous culprit? Or, in the moment of Darlene's greatest need, might he become her rescuing knight?

This was such a sweet and charming read. I really enjoyed the story. The characters were strong and encouraging. The characters clicked from the moment they met. The author, Miss Mae has a unique style, one I haven’t seen in a while. I have a feeling readers are going to grab her books up as if they were going out of style. The mystery with the plot is unlike any other. You think you know what is going to happen next, but you will be surprised to see where the plot of this story takes you next. I got so lost within the pages of this novel. I started it and I couldn’t wait to finish it. The drama is intense, but not overwhelming. It’s a great story and would I would definitely recommend to my family and friends, especially my teenage nieces. You should read this story, don’t be fooled by it being in the young adult genre. It is a book even the most mature of us can relate to and love.

Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Sweet
Reviewer: Holli Winters

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Hunter's Moon by J.O. Parks

Picture Coming Soon!

Title: Hunter’s Moon

Author: J. O. Parks

Publisher: Hearts on Fire Books

Published date:

ISBN: Not Available

Genre/Theme: Paranormal

Length: novel

Buy Here!

Synopsis- Laura Wyatt is a good cop. People trust her and she trusts herself until the night a wolflike creature kills an informant right before her eyes and a black wolf with tender human hands rescues her from certain death. Nothing seems real once the nightmares that haunt her come to life. Drug dealers, serial killers, corrupt politicians, an ex-husband, mythical creatures, and even Satan’s daughter are out to get her but Laura doesn’t understand why. With the aid of a werehuman named Malachi, she must find out the truth about her past before she ends up dead.

Review- Were I to rate this novel on story alone, I would give it a much higher rating. J.O. Parks creates an inventive tale filled with intrigue. The two main characters are likable and complex. Unfortunately, the technical problems overshadow the interesting moments. Hunter’s Moon reads like a first draft. Readers’ heads will spin as they leap from one point of view to the next. Lack of punctuation and incorrect word choices often left me confused and forced to look back at the previous paragraph in an effort to understand who was speaking and what he or she actually meant to say. If you really love shape shifter stories with a bit of mystery, you might want to give Hunter’s Moon a try, but honestly, I’d pass.

Rating: Two flames

Heat Level: Spicy