Wednesday, September 30, 2009

When the Bough Breaks by Miss Mae

Title: When the Bough Breaks
Author: Miss Mae
Published date: October 12, 2009
ISBN: 978-1-936167-01-2
Genre/Theme: Young Adult
Length: 194 pages
Darlene Moore's reason for shunning Parker Shane has nothing to do with his reputation of being a playboy. She even dates him before the death of her mother forces her to move away. After a two-year absence from Dalesville, she returns home to find Parker exchanging wedding vows with her sister. Two months later, her sister dies.

Danger and questions a plenty barrage Darlene with the deadly speed of a six-shooter. Who called down a representative from a Washington agency? Who later assaulted him? Who attacked Darlene at her friend's apartment? And will Parker's scandalous brand of playboy be changed to one of murderous culprit? Or, in the moment of Darlene's greatest need, might he become her rescuing knight?

This was such a sweet and charming read. I really enjoyed the story. The characters were strong and encouraging. The characters clicked from the moment they met. The author, Miss Mae has a unique style, one I haven’t seen in a while. I have a feeling readers are going to grab her books up as if they were going out of style. The mystery with the plot is unlike any other. You think you know what is going to happen next, but you will be surprised to see where the plot of this story takes you next. I got so lost within the pages of this novel. I started it and I couldn’t wait to finish it. The drama is intense, but not overwhelming. It’s a great story and would I would definitely recommend to my family and friends, especially my teenage nieces. You should read this story, don’t be fooled by it being in the young adult genre. It is a book even the most mature of us can relate to and love.

Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Sweet
Reviewer: Holli Winters

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Hunter's Moon by J.O. Parks

Picture Coming Soon!

Title: Hunter’s Moon

Author: J. O. Parks

Publisher: Hearts on Fire Books

Published date:

ISBN: Not Available

Genre/Theme: Paranormal

Length: novel

Buy Here!

Synopsis- Laura Wyatt is a good cop. People trust her and she trusts herself until the night a wolflike creature kills an informant right before her eyes and a black wolf with tender human hands rescues her from certain death. Nothing seems real once the nightmares that haunt her come to life. Drug dealers, serial killers, corrupt politicians, an ex-husband, mythical creatures, and even Satan’s daughter are out to get her but Laura doesn’t understand why. With the aid of a werehuman named Malachi, she must find out the truth about her past before she ends up dead.

Review- Were I to rate this novel on story alone, I would give it a much higher rating. J.O. Parks creates an inventive tale filled with intrigue. The two main characters are likable and complex. Unfortunately, the technical problems overshadow the interesting moments. Hunter’s Moon reads like a first draft. Readers’ heads will spin as they leap from one point of view to the next. Lack of punctuation and incorrect word choices often left me confused and forced to look back at the previous paragraph in an effort to understand who was speaking and what he or she actually meant to say. If you really love shape shifter stories with a bit of mystery, you might want to give Hunter’s Moon a try, but honestly, I’d pass.

Rating: Two flames

Heat Level: Spicy

Friday, September 25, 2009

Desire to Die For by Jessica Lee

Title: Desire to Die For
Author: Jessica Lee
Publisher: Loose ID
Published Date: August 2009
Genre/Theme: Vampire Paranormal
Length: Novel
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Kieren St. James, master of the Enclave, lives to protect mankind from those of his kind who would rend and tear them in bloodlust. He keeps his heart to himself, because those he loves tend to be killed by Marguerite, the evilest of all. Until, one day, he is found, badly injured, by a nurse named Emily and all bets are off.
I enjoyed this story a great deal. Kieren and Emily are likeable (and sexy!) characters with depth. I cheered for them and their future from the moment they met, hoping they would find a way to have a happily ever after.The other members of the Enclave were well developed and interesting enough that I wanted to know what would happen with them in the future. I hope Ms. Lee will include them in future stories, particularly Arran and Gabrielle.Overall, Desire to Die For is a romantic, adventurous Vampire Paranormal, and I highly recommend it to fans of the genre.
Rating: 4 Flames
Heat Level: Spicy
Reviewer: Sky

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Through the Fire by Beth Trissel

Through the Fire
Beth Trissel
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: 2009
ISBN: 1601544715
Genre: Historical (American Rose)
Length: 332 pages
Buy this Book

Author’s Website


At the height of the French and Indian War, a young English widow ventures into the colonial frontier in search of a fresh start. She never expects to find it in the arms of the half-Shawnee, half-French warrior who makes her his prisoner in the raging battle to possess a continent––or to be aided by a mysterious white wolf and a holy man.

Wow! What another great read from Beth Trissel. The story was captivating and beautiful. The author brings you into the story creating a storyline that is mystical and timeless. The characters stand in a league all their own, it’s easy for the readers to fall in love with these characters. And believe me you won’t soon forget them either. The plot is thrilling and enchanting. If you love historicals you are going to love this story and you are going to love this author. Ms. Trissel truly has a magical way with words. I really cannot wait to read her next one!

Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Bella Wolfe

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Shutter by Trista Ann Michaels


Trista Ann Michaels


Sept 2009

ISBN 978-1-60737-423-7

Erotic/Ménage m/m/f

204 pages


Nathan and Derrik have shared women since college without a problem. That changes when Bethany, an intriguing woman with a history of abuse joins Derrik's father's group of beauties. They watch her for years, waiting for her to grow up and regain the confidence her step-father's abuse stole from her. Happy being a photographer and doing what she loves, Bethany doesn't necessarily want a man but finds herself ensnared by two who have been her friends long enough for her to trust them. When the two men's friendship is strained by their feelings for her, she takes matters into her own hands and demands the relationship she's afraid of but can't seem to live without.

I love the play on words in the title. It's one of my favorite things about the story. It starts slow though there is no shortage of action or sex, just a little predictable until the end when the ménage finally comes together. Then Ms. Michaels turns the heat right up and the slow start becomes an afterthought. I give Shutter three smacks because the plot did take some set up and made it a little slow, but I add another half a smack for the last ménage scenes because they were pretty fantastic and made it well worth the wait.

Rating: 3.5 smacks

Heat level: Explicit

Other: m/m/f, anal

Reviewer: StephB

Beginner's Luck by Karenna Colcroft

Title: Beginner’s Luck

Author:Karenna Colcroft

Publisher: Pink Petal BooksPublished

Date: September, 2009

ISBN: 9780982543528

Genre/Theme: Erotic

Length: Novella (69 Pages)

Buy this Book

Author’s Website


Kyla and Alec are in love. And they have great, bed-banging sex. But Alec wants something else now, he wants her ass. And it’s not that Kyla hasn’t had the same idea herself, but now that the idea is out in the open it’s just a bit scary. And yet totally intriguing.

Ms. Colcroft really has it down. Lots of us nice girls are really open to all kinds of fun and interesting activities with our significant other, if only we have the guts to ask.
And Alec is the kind of guy that is open to a girl’s wildest fantasies. Anal sex may have been his idea, but she had the thought, and next time she may be brave enough to come up with the ideas first.

It was great to read the story of a couple truly in love as they learn to trust each other in the bedroom and out. And make each other’s fantasies a reality. This book was not for the faint-hearted, and has detailed descriptions of Kyla and Alec’s adventures in anal. But if you like utterly sizzling bedroom scenes between a couple truly in love, this is the book to read. Erotica, with a plot and a soul!

Rating: 5 Smacks

Heat Level: Erotica

Other: Anal Play

Friday, September 11, 2009

Going with Gravity by Cate Masters

Going with Gravity
Cate Masters
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: July 15, 2009
Genre: Contemporary
Length: 68 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


Publicist Allison Morris plans her own life – what’s left of it – around the life of her boss Michelle McCarter, the ex-wife of a famous rock star. When Michelle needs emergency public relations patchwork in Hawaii pronto, Allison arranges a flight to the dream destination. At the airport, she meets Wes Hamilton, a six-foot-three, sun-bleached blond whose blue eyes and dazzling smile rekindle her fizzled-out sizzle. A world-renowned surfer, Wes captivates her with his charm and wit, though his easy fame and on-the-edge lifestyle are the polar opposite of her own.

When their jet encounters serious trouble in mid-air, she takes advantage of what she thinks are her last minutes alive with Wes. The plane lands safely. Wes takes care of her when her carefully constructed life begins to unravel. When Michelle accuses Allison of using Wes to gain fame for herself, Allison’s world falls apart in an explosive confrontation. Wes is waiting with open arms when she has nowhere else to go, but can Allison learn to stop planning and go with gravity?

Wow! Talk about a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. I was so captured by these characters and this plot. I had to know what was going to happen next. I had to keep reading until I found out the fate of these two characters. Could all really be forgiven and forgotten? Ms. Masters has given us another masterpiece. She has given us another story to stay up way past our bedtime to read. Never read a Cate Masters book? What’s wrong with you? You are missing out on a great author who writes such romantic tales that really touch your soul.

Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Holli Winters

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Enemy of the King by Beth Trissel

Enemy of the King
Beth Trissel
The Wild Rose Press
Pub Date: 2009
ISBN: 1601544936
Genre: Historical (American Rose)
Length: 334 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


1780, South Carolina: While Loyalist Meriwether Steele recovers from illness in the stately home of her beloved guardian, Jeremiah Jordan, she senses the haunting presence of his late wife. When she learns that Jeremiah is a Patriot spy and shoots Captain Vaughan, the British officer sent to arrest him, she is caught up on a wild ride into Carolina back country, pursued both by the impassioned captain and the vindictive ghost. Will she remain loyal to her king and Tory twin brother or risk a traitor’s death fighting for Jeremiah? If Captain Vaughan snatches her away, he won’t give her a choice.

I love historical romances. They are one of my favorites and anymore when I think of a historical I think of Beth Trissel. She is an author who has proved herself over time. She is a beautiful storyteller. Ms. Trissel can take a story line and make it a work of art. And she did just that with Enemy of the King. This tale was so wonderful; it really was a magical read. As soon as I started reading I felt like I was in the pages. The author has a way of pulling you into the story; this is your story. I could see the characters and the images Ms. Trissel described as if I were there or watching a film on TV. It’s a classic read for the ages and I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to read a true fairy-tale. Thank you Beth Trissel for providing your readers with another amazing read! I cannot wait for your next release.

Rating: 5 Smacks
Heat: Spicy
Reviewer: Bella Wolfe

At His Command by Felicia Forella

At His Command
Felicia Forella
Wilder Roses Press
Pub Date: July 2009
Contemporary Erotic (Cougar Club)
139 pages
Buy this Book
Author’s Website


With a long and bitter divorce behind her, Julia Stone is barely back on her feet when she's suddenly swept off them again by a hot young executive with a healthy appetite for sexual dominance. But after years of emotional submission to a controlling ex, will she choose to submit?Workaholic Dalton Fairchild has slaved night and day to build his own computer technology company. All work and no play makes Dalton a boring boy. However, a chance encounter with Julia challenges the dom in him, and he must convince her that, though she's At His Command, submission is the ultimate power.
Talk about a super hot read. My new favorite genre is the Cougar Club. I love older women and younger men…maybe because I’m a little older and would love to be at a younger man’s command. The scenes were so hot between the characters. I was sitting at my computer in total amazement reading this book. I would totally recommend this to any romance reader, to any BDSM fan, to any Cougar looking for a younger man:)

Rating: 4 smacks
Heat: Spicy
Other: BDSM, anal sex
Reviewer: Tara

Flipside Erotica by Darren Michaels

FlipSide Erotica
Darren Michaels
Length: 116 pages (her side) 112 pages (his side)
Buy this Book



FlipSide Erotica is a collection of short erotica stories. The author claims that some of these stories actually happened to him, some are his imagination and the rest are stories that did happen, but he changed the facts to fit how he wished things had happened.

This book is not considered an erotic romance. This is a book about sex, sex and more sex. It’s really like reading porn. A way to get your fix, so to say. I would not recommend this book to a romance fan. The stories are told in first person and really seem amateur, this book was not what I had originally thought it was. The one thing I did like was how the stories are first told in the woman’s perspective and then the man’s perspective. Although as a woman, one who appreciates sex, and erotic romance, I just could not see any solid foundation with this writing. Apparently this author is working on a second volume…maybe it will be better than this one! If you are looking to read short stories all in the 1st person, and practically reading porn than this is a book for you! But if you are looking for stories that involve emotion and everyday life with hot sex mixed in this book is not for you.

Rating: 2 smacks
Heat: Explicit (over 18)
Other: f/m/f
Reviewer: Tara

Friday, September 4, 2009

Rocky Mountain Heat: Six Pack Ranch-Book One by Vivian Arend

Rocky Mountain Heat: Six Pack Ranch-Book One

Vivian Arend

Liquid Silver Books

Pub Date: 2009

ISBN 978-1-59578-588-6


Length: 80


Little Jaxi started out loving the whole Coleman family. As the only child of perfectly nice, but private parents, but big, boisterous family with six sons was a treat she couldn't resist. Then she started growing up and the only Coleman she couldn't get out of her mind was the oldest son, Blake. She saves herself for him, makes herself the best woman she can be so she's ready when he finally looks her way and though he wants her, in his eyes she's still too young. A little resistance doesn't stop her plans though and with a little help from the rest of the Coleman clan, Jaxi sets out to get her man.

Rocky Mountain Heat is short, sweet and an awesome set up for what I hope is an erotic and fun series. Six, sexy studs in all, the Coleman clan made me laugh and made me want to be part of their family. Vivian Arendt shows a real knowledge of men in her depiction of the brothers. They are naughty, authentic and utterly irresistible. I give Rocky Mountain Heat four smacks with the option for more once the series is completed. It's hot and sweet right now, but I could see the rest of the brothers jacking that up to smoking!

Rating: 4 smacks

Heat Level: spicy

Other: oral, a little ménage

Review: StephB

The Wolves' Submissive by Ava Rose Johnson

The Wolves' Submissive

Ava Rose Johnson

Loose ID

Pub Date: Aug 2009

ISBN 978-1-59632-945-4

BSDM, ménage

Length: 122


Stavros and Caine love their mate, the human princess that completes them but while political unrest grows, so does the pressure to make her a werewolf, like them. Stavros is all for making Abigail one of them and can't understand why Caine insists on waiting. Worse, his brother is beginning to pull back from the relationship and making Abigail fear they no longer want her.Caine's issue is submission. To be a wolf, the human princess they adore will first have to submit to their will. It is imperative if she is to make the change and be safe from the volatile female wolf she could become. Caine loves her, but fears hurting her in the steps necessary to make her their mate forever. A born submissive, Abigail must change his mind.

I had a heck of a time leaving my computer once I started reading The Wolves' Submissive. It is a short story and in a different sort of reality but Ava Rose Johnson keeps to the important issues at hand and like I said, I couldn't look away. The sex scenes are hot and rough but always affectionate. Once the submission training starts there's even more love between the three and I'm glad there were some things left undone because I want to read more as soon as possible. I give The Wolves' Submissive five smacks. You should read it and tomorrow is probably a good day.

Rating: 5 smacks

Heat Level: Explicit

Other: bondage, submissive, anal, multiple partners

Review: StephB